Long Time no See

Well, it’s been a while, hasn’t it?

I haven’t been posting lately out of a general feeling that I don’t have much to say. In the past while, my life has fallen into a pattern. Three months into my time in Japan I’m finding that my days have an established rhythm and routine. Not that this is anything to complain about, I’ve been comfortable, but it makes me feel as though I don’t have anything particularly interesting to ramble on about here.

Work is as usual, though I now moonlight as a private English tutor, meeting students in coffee shops after work and on weekends. It’s been giving me spending money and has allowed me to leave my bank account relatively untouched, for which I am grateful.

Halloween in Japan was interesting and seems to be mostly commercial with many parades and store decorations, but few people celebrating it privately. Halloween night I went to a magic show with a friend which was a lot of fun, even if I got a lot of strange looks on the subway over my costume.

Really, I’ve been spending most of my weekdays working and my weekends with new friends, but that’s not really what I want to discuss at the moment. Sure, life in Tokyo’s been great so far, but it’s about to get a lot more difficult.

See, the problem is that I was promised employment until early February and for months I’ve been making plans based on that idea. I knew my funds and had a relative starting date, so I was able to map out a few things I wanted to do before I ever set foot on Japanese soil. However, it was just as I was starting to think seriously about where I would go and how I would travel that a wrench the size of Thor’s hammer was thrown in my wheel spokes. Suddenly, my employment will be ending towards the end of December (since the kids’ grandmother has changed her mind about when she wants to come) meaning that starting in January I’ll be out of work with no place to live. Originally I thought I’d just have to travel sooner, cut out some of the things that I wanted to do due to less money, but I’m finding that option less and less attractive. The fact of the matter is that I don’t want to have to go back in Canada in March or even February. My original plan was to come home in May, and dammit, I’m going to make that happen.

The fact of the matter is that the visa I currently have I can never get again. It is a one time thing. And since I don’t plan on studying Japan or making a career off it, the only way I’d be able to get another visa for this country would be to marry a Japanese man, which I am certainly not going to be banking on. Sure, I could do JET, but taking two years off while I’m in the middle of trying to get a PhD doesn’t sound too pleasant either. So the reality is that this is my once chance to live and work in Japan, and I want to take advantage of it. What do all these paragraphs of concealed frustration mean? In short, I’m looking for a job.

I’ve been job hunting for the past two weeks, looking at various online resources and magazines for whatever jobs I’m capable of doing, but so far I haven’t had any luck. Finding a place to live shouldn’t be terribly difficult, as gaijin houses (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Housing_in_Japan#Guest_Houses) are pretty easy to find in Tokyo. What I’m looking to do is find a job asap and work at it part-time until January, where I’ll start working at it full-time. Once I have a job, I can start looking for a gaijin house near that place of work. The problem is finding that job in the first place.

My Japanese is okay, but not great. I can survive day to day life on my own and figure most things out, but I’m not confident enough to have to conduct a job interview in Japanese. Also, when you consider that I don’t yet have a university degree, my options are limited. The teaching I’m doing now isn’t enough to live off of as a fair chunk of my pay is lost to travel costs and appointments are incredibly fickle, and most other English teaching positions require you to have a university degree to even apply. However, aside from English teaching, there aren’t a lot of job opportunities for foreigners. I can’t model, I certainly can’t hostess (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Host_and_hostess_clubs), and my Japanese isn’t even good enough to work a McJob.

At the moment, I’m doing what I can and just trying to get a firm plan. If I can find work, that’ll be great, I’ll be able to travel Japan and spend a month in Australia like I planned before coming home. If not… I’ll do what I can and see you all a lot sooner. Each option has its positives and negatives and neither of them is easy. Here’s hoping that whatever happens, it’s for the best.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jessie
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 23:05:19

    Good luck. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

