Pidgeons, Crows, and Sparrows are Universal

Welcome to day… 4 in Tokyo (had to think about that one).

Days have really been flying by. I haven’t really been up to much, though. Maybe it’s the weather. The heat is absolutely overwhelming when you go outside. I never used to sweat much in Canada, but here my shirts are drenched after a few hours outdoors. 100 people died last month alone from heat stroke, several of them in their forties. I bring water bottles with me everywhere, though, so heat stroke isn’t a concern. There are also vending machines on absolutely every street corner XD It’s quite funny to see Tommy Lee Jones in coffee ads on the sides of them.

My feet are really feeling the effects of the amount of walking that you do here in Tokyo, though. I’ve got two blisters per foot from my shoes rubbing me wrong and they just ache all over. It’ll take me a bit of time to get used to it.

I’ve been taking care of myself, though XD I've made this every morning

Behold, BREAKFAST! XD I pretty much have been making this every morning. It’s my plan until I can track down from lactose free milk, if I can at all >>

I went to Harajuku yesterday after putting in the paperwork to get my gaijin card. Sarah had to meet a friend, so she kind of just dropped me in the middle of Tokyo’s equivalent of Time Square with a map and a few directions. I got lost about four or five times, but eventually made it home and collapsed. Harajuku’s the kind of place where I’m constantly reminding myself to shut my jaw, it was a little overwhelming. I went into a few goth loli shops; everything is VERY Alice in Wonderland themed right now. There’s a lot of stuff I find really cute, but I really don’t feel like I’d be able to pull off those kinds of clothes. ^^; I’m really not the “cutsie” type, am I? This is also the first place I’ve ever been where I’m atleast a large >>

I’m starting to get over the jet lag. I managed to sleep soundly until 7am this morning, though yesterday I was up at 5am. Probably because of this…

They’re so incredibly loud, the video really doesn’t do it justice. You have to yell to be heard over them. And they’re HUGE! Look at the size of one of their shedded shells!Shedded Japanese cicada shell Scaaaaary.

Rochelle, Nick, and the kids came home from Vancouver last night. Since everybody was exhausted they went to bed pretty quickly, but I got a chance to get more acquainted with them this morning. Myles is a really sweet kid and is very open to interaction with me. He’s got the typical 7-year-old energy, so he can be a bit of a handful at times XD Lily’s still warming up to me, though. At only a year and a half, she’s still very weary of strangers. But I’ve managed to get a few smiles out of her and she’s started to show me toys and stuff, which is a good sign. ^^ She’s only been walking for a month and a half, but she’s very steady on her feet and she’s got more teeth than her brother, who just lost four. XD

I’ve been learning about some idol groups while I’m here. Posters near my house have proved rather entertaining. Such as this one.As long as you're cute, you can wear a Hitler mustache

Apparently, you can get away with wearing a Hitler mustache if you’re cute and in an idol band XD Oh, Japan… I also thought I’d be able to escape the new, terrible, Resident Evil movie here… Then I got in a cab… Biohazard 4 Poster inside Japanese taxi

*sighs*

That’s all for now! I’ll keep you all updated.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gabriel Fortin
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 23:45:49

    This is so awesome XD I’m glad you’re okay even with the heat and all, did you try earplugs or something for the cicadas? I’m glad it’s going well with the kids you’re babysitting. LOL there’s nothing better than Japanese advertisements… RESIDINTO EEVARU YON/fake wapanesetalk. *trolololoo lololo lololol*

    Anyhow. I miss you a lot and you should take tourist pictures of you next to buildings and stuff.

    Reply

  2. Onigiri
    Aug 07, 2010 @ 13:14:53

    LOL! The noise would kill me. The kids sound great though. I’m sure you’ll have a lot of fun. Its too bad that even there you can’t escape the movie.

    Reply

  3. Becky
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 16:15:03

    Whaaaaaat? Those aren’t Hitler mustaches. They have hats, so they must be Chaplin ‘staches. Word to your comedy gold.

    The cicadas can be pretty bad, and it’s too hot to sleep with the windows closed. >:3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

